1. LeBron James: NBA superstar’s evolution from high school prodigy
  2. Mbarara City end Vipers Sc unbeaten run
  3. Masaza Cup 2020: Busiro finish third after penalty shot-outs
  4. Masaza Cup 2020: Gomba Lions clinch fifth title
  5. Arua Hill Stadium will help solve the plight of sports development in the region

Busiro managed to clinch third spot at the 2020 Airtel Masaza Cup after a 5-3 penalty shootout victory over 2019 champions Bulemeezi in the third-place play-off match at the St. Marys Stadium, Kitende on Saturday afternoon.

Adadi Mutumba was the hero of the day-saving Rodgers Sebwondwa’s penalty to confirm third place for his side.

Bulemeezi missed the services of head coach Simon Peter Mugerwa and it was his deputy Yusuf Kinene on the touchline.

Busiro enjoyed the first 10 minutes of the game dominating possession but still failed to penetrate Bulemeezi’s defensive lines.

Bulemeezi almost took the lead against the run of play but were twice denied by the frame of the goal, Akram Muzannyi putting his effort against the upright before John Ben Nakibinge also saw his shot parried onto the crossbar by goalkeeper Adadi Mutumba.

Nakibinge had the ball in the back of the net in the 20th minute but assistant referee Bryson Musisi raised the flag to call for an offside.

Early in the second half, Edward Mubiru saw his shot fly inches wide of the target after a brilliant run through the Bulemeezi defence, while Gerard Ogweti also had his shot parried onto the upright by Herman Mugoye.

The game ended goalless in normal time and both sides went straight to penalty shoot outs.

Douglaus Kizza, Ismael Kayondo, Thomas Kakaire scored for Bulemeezi with Ssendyowa missing the decisive penalty.

Busiiro’s penalties were scored by Robert Ssentongo, Brian Kasule, Rodgers Adriko, Julius Kazibwe, Gerrald Ogwetti.

How they lined up

Bulemeezi XI: Herman Mugoye (Gk),Rodgers Sebyondya, Douglas Kizza Lule, Rashid Ssemwogerere, Sulaiman Ssesazi, Dirisa Masembe, Gabriel Elagu, Simon Katumba, Shafik Muzayi, MasuudiKafumbe, John Ben Nakibinge

Subs: Ibra Banalya, Ismael Kayondo, Thomas Kakaire

Busiiro XI: Adadi Mutumba (Gk), Edward Mubiru, Razak Mumbere, Brian Kasule, Robert Ssentongo, Adriko Rodgers, Amuza Kalibwami, Arafat Usama, Badru Kabanda, Julius Kazibwe, Gerald Ogweti

Subs: Juma Kirabira, Mustapha, Ivan Ssemwanga, Malida Kuteesa